PDA

View Full Version : Digital Cameras

meld51
07-09-2003, 22:03
Hello,

Does anyone know if it is necessary to use a UV filter in front of a digital camera in the same way as you do in a film camera?

Tricky
07-09-2003, 22:06
Not required but the same as film cameras it will stop some glare but more importantly it will protect your lens.

meld51
07-09-2003, 22:47
Thanks Tricky!

The reason I mention it is that I just took a load of scenic shots which seem to be a bit washed out.

Oh well. Is there a website anywhere that discusses digital photography. Most information I see is mostly about after you capture the shot. I'm still a bit of a novice in the digital world and I find my camera to be a bit difficult at times.

Sipowicz
08-09-2003, 00:09
If your digicam has a filter thread (not many do!) then attach one by all means (just to protect the front element) Beware, some have filter threads but the lens moves beyond the filter (zooming in and out) and will foul on any attachment!

If you want a good website then try www.robgalbraith.com It is aimed at the pro end, but contains a lot of info on CF memory cards, and the forum has hints and tips on processing in photoshop and printing. It is worth a look!

Q. What camera do you have?

meld51
08-09-2003, 19:36
I have a NIKON Coolpix 995. I really like it. It is very versatile, but I am used to film cameras of course. I'm not really sure how to get the best out of it.

For instance, with film, when you change ISO, you also affect contrast, but I'm not sure how to treat the ISO setting on my NIKON. I mean I know when I need a 'fast' setting and when I need a 'slow' setting, but with film, there is more to it than that.

When I look at books about digital photography, they seem to feature a lot of Gee whizz stuff about what you can do in the PC, and no much about the process of obtaining the best image in the first place.

Anyway I will take a look at the site recommenfded above

Thanks

altis
08-09-2003, 20:12