PDA

View Full Version : SB4100 problem

phunkymunky
14-02-2005, 23:41
I have a SB4100 modem that i used use, when my parents took over the account i was sent out a new modem (which i've been using for a few years now). I would like to go back to the SB4100 so i connected it up tonight and its lights cycled through their normal connect process. However i had no acces to the net via any program; irc, p2p, msn, ie or firefox. so i pulled up a cmd box and done ipconfig/all, the modem had obtained an ip adress, dns servers etc, everything seems in order. I also pinged www.google.com from a cmd box and got replys.

Any ideas whats going on here?

thx

carlingman
14-02-2005, 23:55
I have a SB4100 modem that i used use, when my parents took over the account i was sent out a new modem (which i've been using for a few years now). I would like to go back to the SB4100 so i connected it up tonight and its lights cycled through their normal connect process. However i had no acces to the net via any program; irc, p2p, msn, ie or firefox. so i pulled up a cmd box and done ipconfig/all, the modem had obtained an ip adress, dns servers etc, everything seems in order. I also pinged www.google.com from a cmd box and got replys.

Any ideas whats going on here?

thx

I would suspect when you connect this modem up you are getting an IP Address ending in .248 to .253 which is an unregistered IP Address which will allow you to ping or visit the registration server only.

Not too sure whether you will be able to register this old modem with them and I will leave that up to the CS Bods here to answer.

:D

Paul
14-02-2005, 23:57
Why would you want to go back to an old modem, even assuming you could. :confused:

In fact, this sounds a bit suspect ......

phunkymunky
15-02-2005, 00:18
Thanks for that carlingman, you're right it does end in .252.