PDA

View Full Version : Kung Fu

Tezcatlipoca
31-01-2005, 20:35
I've recently been thinking about trying to learn Kung Fu, & wondered if anyone here does it or has done it.

What's it like for complete beginners with absolutely no martial arts knowledge or experience? Is it really hard to get into? Or do you generally start out easily, & have a good learning curve?

I assume there are different styles..... can anyone recommend any in particular? Or say why the one they've done is good or not?

Kliro
31-01-2005, 20:40
What do you want this for? Self defence or leisure?

I've tried judo and akido, and found neither were for me.

I'm thinking about kick-boxing/thai kick-boxing, as these help keep you fit, are a hobby, and very good for self defence!

Graham
31-01-2005, 20:45
If you want to learn self defence, go to self defence classes, don't try to learn an "art".

Self defence is about doing the things that you're not allowed to do in a Martial Arts dojo fight (fingers in eyes, kicking for kneecaps etc) and you don't want to spend a few years learning those things if you're going to need them sooner than that.

Other things to consider: go and watch the class and see what people are doing. Are they exercising within the body's natural range of movements or going for "fancy techniques"? Also are they throwing full strength punches and kicks into empty air? If so, be concerned because this is *not* good for your joints in later years.

Another thing to watch out for is "body conditioning" (eg hitting your shins or arms with weights to make them capable of taking hits) again, this can lead to problems in later years.

Those are a few things to consider (there are more!)

Scrubbs
31-01-2005, 20:49
I have done kung fu years ago but switched over to Tai chi as it was part of the same thing "the seven strands of the brocade"
It is called Feng shou or " hand of the wind" and it is taught in the "Lee family style" (get googling;) )