PDA

View Full Version : using my car for consultancy work - query

markmarkymark
08-12-2004, 20:35
Hi All....

I know that an accountant can help here as can the tax website ( :erm: ) ... however I guess some of you might have a similar situation....

I have a full time job as an employee. I also have a consultancy (giving safety advice etc). I am a sole trader with respect to second job

We bought a Subaru WRX in July on a PCP contract, we put x up front, we pay Y a month and will finish with payment Z (or have another car etc etc). I was really bought for my wife, I do not need it for my main job.

However, I have now started using it about once a week for consultancy work. It struck me that although I only use it once a week, I am doing 9/10 of all the miles in anyone week. So, the question is can I and should I put it on the consultancy???

What happens? Do I claim back tax or perhaps reduce my tax bill in future years. Is it based on total cost of car or what I am paying back each month ?

Advice please !!

Theodoric
08-12-2004, 20:58
You also need to consider whether your car insurance covers you for your business work. I suspect that if you don't inform your insurer then they may have a get out clause if you have an accident.

Ramrod
08-12-2004, 21:02
You bought a Subaru WRX for your wife ? :shocked:

btw......I believe you can only claim if you use your car between places of work. so the journey from home to work isn't covered.....unless you use home as a place of work.....and that doesn't mean you use home to do your accounts, you need to actually carry out your trade at home to qualify if you claim for travelling from your home to a workplace.....afaik

snodvan
08-12-2004, 21:13
You also need to consider whether your car insurance covers you for your business work. I suspect that if you don't inform your insurer then they may have a get out clause if you have an accident.