PDA

View Full Version : Mis-selling of services

bungee69
18-11-2004, 11:33
As a telewest customer on a 321 phone/tv package/dialup package, I received a phone call from telewest offering to save me money, I was interested in BBand and an all calls inclusive phone package as I am now a Student & wife home with child allday & reducing TV channels. I was offered basic TV, 256K BB & all calls (except Mobile -50% discount & premium etc) for £39.49 and free BB install and 1st month BB free. Salesman said"......that is all you will pay telewest each month apart from mobile, 0845, 0345, premium & intnational calls" as my bills are now £45-£50 pmnth this sounded a good deal. Broadband installed, TV channels reduced, all call tariff implemented all ok.

Online e-bill received and they hadn't told me about the £10 line rental I would continue to pay, queried this last friday & told that they do not offer my package for £39.49 but that email be sent to salesman & his supervisor. Chased this up yesterday & told same again (after explaining problem again), got unlimited calls removed and waiting for resolution.

I have not signed any contracts (although does letting them install BB class as acceptance), can they be made to let me have my package for £39.49 or am I within my rights to withdraw from my contract for all services as it is not what was agreed/offered in the phone call.

Also if I go to BT both as a matter of principal & their basic phone tarrif seems a better deal than Telewest anyway & I'm not bothered about a TV package, what would my best option for BB be (I don't download zillions of files).

Neil
18-11-2004, 12:09
Hi & :welcome: to the site. :)

When did this phone call take place?
(Distance selling laws & cooling off periods may apply)

bungee69
18-11-2004, 12:28