PDA

View Full Version : Router drops connection when using eBay!

John C Huggins
08-10-2004, 21:17
Hi

I have carried out a quick search for this problem but can't find anything relevant.

Unfortunatly I'm not very technically minded, but here goes....

I have NTL broadband which runs through a router to four additional PC's, basically most of the time every thing works fine...that is until I try to access eBay!, as soon as I start trying to work in eBay my router drops the connection within seconds. The only way I can restore the connection is to unplug the router, then plug it back in, all is ok I can surf for hours on end on any site, but as soon as I try to access eBay the connection is lost>

Are there any know issues?

JC

TheBlueRaja
08-10-2004, 21:19
Could be something to do with the security on Ebay causing you problems, is there any particular page on EBay that give your problems or just Ebay in general...

John C Huggins
08-10-2004, 21:22
Thanks for the prompt response, no just eBay in general, someone suggested a 'proxy server problem'

JC

Rone
08-10-2004, 21:25
I use a router to 2 pcs, and must admit every site is available, and i'm also a member of e-bay.

TheBlueRaja
08-10-2004, 21:34
Normally with a proxy problem you just wouldnt get the site though - it could be but it sounds like some sort of software thing if the router falls on its ass.

Have you tried to update it?

Tezcatlipoca
08-10-2004, 21:34
You mean the actual broadband connection itself drops?

Or is it simply that you can't access ebay?

What make/model router do you use?

I don't see how trying to browse the ebay website would cause a disconnection...

Problems with accessing a particular site, but not others, are often due to proxy server problems. Although if you are actually being disconnected, then that's quite strange & not a proxy problem...

homealone
08-10-2004, 21:58