PDA

View Full Version : Interviewing

Jerrek
13-08-2003, 19:04
OK I need some help.

How do you interview someone? I need to interview several prominent businessmen about socio-economic conditions in Africa, and I've never done such an interview before. I've done some interviews with students that applied for work (and I reviewed the resumes and did the interviewing), but never an interview like this.

Is there any specific rules and guidelines that anyone can give me? I need to publish it in the school newspaper.... Help.

Gogogo
13-08-2003, 19:51
Originally posted by Jerrek
OK I need some help.

How do you interview someone? I need to interview several prominent businessmen about socio-economic conditions in Africa, and I've never done such an interview before. I've done some interviews with students that applied for work (and I reviewed the resumes and did the interviewing), but never an interview like this.

Is there any specific rules and guidelines that anyone can give me? I need to publish it in the school newspaper.... Help.

Complex subject this, hope this helps:

Firstly, do you know anything about socio-economic conditions in Africa?

Secondly, thorough research by you is important, and have do you have real time experience in Africa an advantage, with research then you will know what answers you want based on questions designed by you based on your knowledge.

1. So, research thoroughly in advance.

2. Angle, any article for publishing must have an angle, the hinge of what you are trying to illustrate.

3. Be professional, businesslike, friendly, courteous & polite to your interviewees.

4. Venue better in the interviewees home to make them feel at ease.

5. Take charge from the beginning. You control the shape of the interview, you know what information you need.

6. Use your eyes. note your interviewees body language, how they dress, how they interact with others. Note the books they have on their shelves, any objects on display.