PDA

View Full Version : Interview tommorow - how do i overcome this question -->

heyyo
26-08-2004, 17:13
I have an interview tommorow as a sales assistant (phone 4 u) this is something i am doing for the cash, not a long term plan. However as I have a degree, in my past interviews they always ask the question, why not find a job in the area of your degree (media)

I think this is where i am losing any chance of getting the job. As i answered honestly saying I have tried and it's difficult, but this as you know doesnt sound too good.

Any thoughts what else i could say?

Chris W
26-08-2004, 17:17
"I don't want to restrict myself to one particular skill so i am trying to broaden my horizons and explore a number of different employment opportunities."

or if that branch is anything like the one near my old house
"cos i is well good at sellin phones innit!" :D

Chris
26-08-2004, 17:26
Well, as an archaeology graduate ... :D

To be honest, it's a bit of a dim question on the part of the person conducting the interview. Degrees have traditionally been seen as evidence that you are mature (no, really!), intelligent, capable of working hard, applying yourself to tasks, and so on ... if the person at Phones 4 U asks you this, then tell them you chose a course you were interested in but your overall intention was to learn how to study, reseach, think for yourself and, erm ... sell phones. OK, so I don't think you should say the last one :D

paulyoung666
26-08-2004, 17:30