PDA

View Full Version : Asians - why a discount?

Russ
29-07-2004, 19:08
Going off in the direction of something I hinted at in another thread, one of the things which really annoys me in my day job is the way some people try to do business - allow me to give you the background.

In the day I work at the DVLA. When you want to buy a registration mark (www.dvlaregistrations.co.uk) from us, I'm the guy you call up to order it from. I get calls from people of all walks of life, from people who buy reg marks which are more expensive than the car they go on to, to the eccentric people who think nothing or ordering 5 marks worth about £5000 each. But one thing which happens is about as consistant as gravity.....

As the callers represent a cross-section of society, it would be only natural that we get a lot of Indian and Pakistani people ordering registration marks. Nothing wrong with that of course but I can honestly say that about 95% of them always ask for a discount (there are none btw - the prices that the government state are the prices you pay) and well over 50% get annoyed when I tell them that there aren't any.

So my question is why do so many of them ask for/expect discounts? Is it part of their culture to haggle?

paulyoung666
29-07-2004, 19:10
i reckon it is a part of there culture , so no i am not surprised , mind you if i was spending 25 g i would ask for a discount :D :D :D :D

scrotnig
29-07-2004, 19:14
Yes, it IS part of their culture, but I don't see anything wrong with that.

If the rest of us did that a bit more maybe some of the more extortionate prices would come down.

If you don't ask....you don't get! Good luck to them on this one.

paulyoung666
29-07-2004, 19:16

If the rest of us did that a bit more maybe some of the more extortionate prices would come down.

If you don't ask....you don't get! Good luck to them on this one.

that was sort of where i was coming from :tu:

Russ
29-07-2004, 19:18