PDA

View Full Version : Net Radio

russellelly
29-07-2003, 17:56
I am in the process of setting up an internet radio station. The thing is I'm not sure about how many people could listen. I have a 150k connection, which is 64k upload. If I was broadcasting at 24kbps does that mean only 2 people can listen at any one time? I seem to remember a station called Daniel's Lounge by a member of NTHW.com a while ago and him saying he was on 128k at the time. I'm sure more than 2 people were listening to that. I'm pretty sure he didn't "buy a server" (sorry if that's the wrong term, I'm fairly new to this stuff).

So have i got it right?

Cheers

Chris

edit - typo

paulyoung666
29-07-2003, 18:05
i may be corrected here but any amount of people could listen to you as they wanted but when you are streaming people will have to buffer at some point so may have to sit around and wait sometimes , does that make sense , maybe not , im sure someone will be along soon to put it into proper english we all will understand :spin: :spin: :spin: :spin:

andygrif
29-07-2003, 18:14
No...less than 24 really if you've only got a 64k upstream.

I'm sure someone will post the exact details of how much output you can actually use of your 64k, but it's not the full amount, and sure won't be enough for streaming listenable quality audio.

Plus...and this is a big deal....it's illegal and will breach the terms of your AUP (acceptable use policy) NTL will probably shut you down and may even report you to the PPL and PRS, who may well take you to court for not paying what is due to the hardworking ladies and gentlemen of the music industry.