PDA

View Full Version : NTL BB installation/activation procedure

resident.alien
03-07-2004, 20:31
Good evening!

I'm a newbie and I don't have a clue about cable broadband whatsoever. So far I've been using ADSL (BT/Virgin.net).

Next week I will be moving to a new address where there is NTL television and NTL telephone already. I would now like to add NTL broadband to that package. I understand that I can simply call NTL and tell them that I want broadband. Fair enough. But how does the actual cable broadband activation work? I.e. what is the engineer going to do? Is he going to drill holes, dig in our front garden, etc? Will I be accessing the internet via tv box or will I be given a cable modem? If the latter is true, where should I put it? I really want to set up a wireless LAN, so I guess the location of the modem is irrelevant, isn't it? If the internet is accessed via tv box, would a wireless router interfere with tv reception?

Thanks in advance for your help.

r.a

Nikko
03-07-2004, 20:45
:welcome: to the forum :)

Which area are you moving to? This will dictate STB/SACM

Basically either way the main work has been done from the street to the house - either a feed will be taken from the STB or a feed from the main box to the SACM.

Siting is irrelevant if you are going wireless, but I would put the modem where the main PC normally lives in case of router failure etc. There should be no interference in any event.

resident.alien
03-07-2004, 21:02
:welcome: to the forum :)

Which area are you moving to? This will dictate STB/SACM

Thanks, Nikko. I'm moving to Northampton (NN4). I believe STB/SACM stand for tv box and modem?

Cheers.

r.a

Nikko
03-07-2004, 21:06
I believe NN is a Langley (original NTL) area - someone will be able to confirm it, in which case it will be Stand Alone Cable Modem rather than Set Top Box, so yes :)

Marge
03-07-2004, 21:24