PDA

View Full Version : downstream dropping off

bcuk
03-06-2004, 04:23
Hi,
Been a lurker here for a while and had most of my probs cured by reading other peoples problems but I'm now stumped. Over the past couple of days whenever I'm downloading anything you can watch the speed drop down to nothing and then the whole system locks up. This is happening with bit torrent and emule and normal "save as..." downloads. I initially thought I had made a mess of my windows install so I wiped the whole thing at the atrt of the week but the problem persists. I am using the following

Windows XP Pro SP1 and all current updates
ZoneAlarm (Free version)
AVG Antivirus (Free Version)
NTL 600 k/b on a Motorola Surfboard 4100

This is the system I've been running for about 6 months now with no problems and suddenly it's all messed up. I used netstat to check this and it registered down to about 500bytes each way before the system locked.

I realise there may be a software problem but as this is happening before and after a fresh install I thought the broadband forums would be a good starting place. Any ideas are most welcome.

Chris W
03-06-2004, 07:58
are you using the usb or ethernet connection?

have you tried with zone alaram disabled? do you get the same problem?

LenMackin
03-06-2004, 14:29
Same here mate,
I know that I have downgraded from 1mb to 600kb but I find that many downloads, from big name sites such as MS, or crap. Currently downloading a Nero update at 26mb which is coming in at 14.1kb a sec and has taken 14.9 mins so far with 58% of the download complete. This is getting to be very normal for me now in the Coventry Warwick area.

bcuk
03-06-2004, 16:04
Discovered a similar thread to this in the internet section and most people seemed to think it was firewall related so I pulled zonealarm and installed sygate personal firewall instead and so far so good I'm running all 3 types of d/l concurrently and while it isn't on fire speed wise it's at least working.

Chris W