PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob Web Question

Flip
02-04-2004, 19:58
After guest blogging on a couple of sites for quite sometime...I took the plunge and delved into the mystical world of my own web page...weeks and loss of hair later (hehe) I am sort of ready to launch it...however.

I only use the ntl webspace at the moment for linking images and stuff...however the url always gives my full name as in the user name ntl gave me when i signed up.

Whilst not ashamed of my name ;) I'm sick of seeing my name in the url as in:

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/neil.humber/flophousebackroom2.htm

How do I get rid of it?

Can i get rid of it?

:dunce:

Thanks in advance :D

homealone
02-04-2004, 20:13
Hi

afaik you can't change the 'homepage/ntlworld/username' part of the address, sorry :(

- have you thought about registering your own domain & using a hosting service? The deal offered by i-web solutions to members of this forum is very good value, for example.

- check it out at

http://www.i-websolutions.co.uk/nthwwhosting.html

:)

TheBlueRaja
02-04-2004, 20:15
You could use www.tinyurl.com to change that into something completely different.

Then you would just give out tinyurl.com/Flip or something similar to people.

Stuartbe
02-04-2004, 20:16
Go with an I-web account m8... Send a PM to KingPheonix... He's a top bloke !!

TheBlueRaja
02-04-2004, 20:21
Eh, dont want to annoy the sponsors or nothing, but www.web-mania.com offer much more than that for a fixed 20quid a year.

500MB of disk space
6GB of data transfer per month
Frontpage extensions version 2002
Unlimited POP3 mail@yourdomain.com
Unlimited mail forwarding mail@yourdomain.com
Email is filtered for Spam and Viruses.
Unlimited subdomains of your domain name
e.g. http://subdomain.yourdomain.com/
CGI-BIN directory
Control Panel
Perl 5
PHP 4
SSI (server side includes)
MySQL Database
phpMyAdmin for MySQL management
SSH access
Full FTP access
Detailed visitor statistics