View Single Post
Old 11-12-2003, 14:43   #8
Sociable
Inactive
 
Sociable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Knebworth
Age: 59
Posts: 1,816
Sociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation eraSociable has entered a golden reputation era
Re: john@ntlworld.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by gary_580
so basically your saying its not possible to trace this email back ot the originator?
Not with any degree of certainty no.

It is possible to spoof the originating IP and even if it did originate from that IP it may well not have been the person on that IP that initiated it. If that person has a trojan sitting on their system it would be relatively simple to bounce mails through them without them ever being aware of it.

Going back a few years Cabletel (Pre NTL) were blacklisted by many sites because their mail servers were so insecure they were a popular target for this type of "Bounce" being used to hide the true origins of attacks. Up-dates to the security allowed them to get off the blacklist but it shows just how easy it can be to fool the system even when it is being controlled by a large organisation in the internet provison field let alone an individual subscriber.
Sociable is offline   Reply With Quote