Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Dubious email??


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Services > Webspace, E-Mail & Browsing Issues

Dubious email??
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-01-2004, 10:30   #1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 34
Ouch is an unknown quantity at this point
Angry Dubious email??

Received this email this morning. Is it me or is it a bit dodgy?

First of all, every link goes through an email tracker. e.g. the link to the 'Windows XP (Home or Pro)' goes to:

http://emarketing.eqtr.com/email_tra...displaylang=en

*ALL* the links start the same way

Also, the issue linked to at the end of the email only affects the 64-bit version of WinXP

*The email is very realistic (difficult to show you with just text). It is nicely boxed with a NTL:Home logo and a padlock at the top*

AM I BEING PARANOID!?!

Andy

MESSAGE FOLLOWS:

---------------------------------------

Dear Customer,
Microsoft have contacted us to tell us about a weakness in their Messenger application, which they supply with Windows 2000 and Windows XP operating systems.

If you are using either of these systems your PC could be vulnerable to a computer virus attack and we thought we should make you aware of Microsoft’s warning.

Don’t worry though, it is easy to fix!

Microsoft have issued a free update to Windows 2000 and Windows XP and below are simple instructions on how to obtain this upgrade and install it on your PC.

We hope you find this email helpful and thank you for being an NTL Internet customer.

Kindest regards

ntl:home Internet Security


-------------------------------------------------------------------



Windows 98, Windows ME and Macintosh users are unaffected by this security risk, and do NOT need to download any additional security patches or updates.

Customers should take the following steps to ensure that they are not impacted by any future virus attack exploiting this weakness by taking the following steps:-

1. Update your machine with the appropriate software update (patch) for your operating system.
The links for the various operating systems are listed below. Just click on the link for your operating system, and this will take you directly to the Microsoft Site

The software updates (patches) for the specific
versions are as follows:- If you are unsure of which Windows
operating system you are using, simply:
1. Click Start, and then click Run.

2. In the box, type winver, and then click OK.

The window that appears will show you which version of Windows your computer is using.

Windows XP (Home or Pro): Click here

Windows 2000: Click here

2. Ensure that a Firewall is in place to prevent unauthorised
access to your machine.
If you do not have Firewall Software a free version is available from
www.zonealarm.com/ntl

3. Do not open email attachments from anyone that you do not recognise or trust.

4. Regularly visit www.windowsupdate.com and check for new updates.
It is strongly recommended that you update your computer with any security updates suggested here.

There have been a number of Security Alerts recently, Microsoft have launched a new site to ensure that customers using Microsoft products are kept up to date. Microsoft recommends that customers visit this site regularly to keep up to date. If you have any questions about this please use the “Contact us” link on the site below.

http://www.microsoft.com/security/


For easy reference, Microsoft, have given this a number which is MS03-043. Further information can be found at:-
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/tre...n/MS03-043.asp
__________________
1010011010 - Electronic Evil?
Ouch is offline  
Old 27-01-2004, 10:35   #2
Ex Mod
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In your head
Posts: 493
grum1978 will become famous soon enoughgrum1978 will become famous soon enoughgrum1978 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to grum1978
Re: Dubious email??

this is being discussed here...

http://forum.nthellworld.co.uk/showt...ight=messenger
grum1978 is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:02.


Links
Google
 
Web www.cableforum.co.uk


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright 2003 - 2008, Cable Forum.
(s204569790.onlinehome.info)