Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | What is dtn.ntl.com?


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Services > Webspace, E-Mail & Browsing Issues

What is dtn.ntl.com?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-01-2004, 21:49   #1
kai
Inactive
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
kai is an unknown quantity at this point
Question What is dtn.ntl.com?

I have recently (last few days) been getting many e-mails purporting to be bounced back to me. The bounced messages are all Viagra type spam. Two questions:
(1) How can I find out whether these messages are first generation spam pretending to be bounced, or genuine bounces of spam on which my address was forged?
(2) How does it come about that these messages purport to have originated from, are are bounced back to, myname@dtn.ntl.com, when my real address is myname@ntlworld.com? Out of curiosity I e-mailed myself at the dtn.ntl.com address, and it was delivered to me at my ntlworld address! I seem to have a valid e-mail address I knew nothing about.

I know that ogg raised the dtn.ntl.com question in another thread, and was advised simply to delete the messages as spam. But they had not been bounced, so my question (1) above did not arise in his case. Nor was it explained what dtn.ntl.com is.

All the best
Kai

Can anyone here help me understand what is happening?
kai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2004, 22:12   #2
cf.addict
 
eddie00001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newport
Age: 31
Services: Sky Broadband Sky HD
Posts: 477
eddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation eraeddie00001 has entered a golden reputation era
Re: What is dtn.ntl.com?

dtn (Digital TeleNetwork) = ntl
the @dtn.ntl.com were the address's given out to customers prior to the @ntlworld.com being used. All should by now have been migrated over to @ntlworld.com
eddie00001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2004, 14:01   #3
kai
Inactive
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
kai is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: What is dtn.ntl.com?

Thank you for the information, Eddie.

I have asked the ntl helpline about this. They said that the @dtn.ntl.com addresses are no longer in use by them, and that some third party must have configured their own mail server to use them. When I asked how could mail addressed to myname@dtn.ntl.com be successfully delivered to me when that was not a valid address for me, I was told that the server must be employing 'carbon copying' whereby anything addressed to the @dtn.ntl.com address was redirected to the corresponding @ntlworld.com address with the headings forged so as to hide the fact. Their advice was simply to treat all such mail as spam.

I cannot believe that some spammer has gone to these lengths just to target me. Is nobody else getting these 'dtn' bounces?

A whois search on dtn.ntl.com drew a blank. Call me paranoid, but I cannot help feeling that there is more to this than just another spammer's ploy.
kai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2004, 14:27   #4
Busy Admin
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 45
Services: VM Phone : Sky+ Multiroom : VM Cable (20 Mbps)
Posts: 14,489
Paul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny star
Paul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny star
Send a message via ICQ to Paul M
Re: What is dtn.ntl.com?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kai
A whois search on dtn.ntl.com drew a blank. Call me paranoid, but I cannot help feeling that there is more to this than just another spammer's ploy.
Yep - you're paranoid - it's a common spammers trick to put completely false addresses on their e-mails "to" address field - and then BCC them to the real addresses.
__________________
DigiGuide Click here for a real, interactive, tv guide.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2004, 15:56   #5
ex CLT
 
threadbare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 454
threadbare is a glorious beacon of lightthreadbare is a glorious beacon of lightthreadbare is a glorious beacon of lightthreadbare is a glorious beacon of lightthreadbare is a glorious beacon of lightthreadbare is a glorious beacon of lightthreadbare is a glorious beacon of light
Re: What is dtn.ntl.com?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kai
Thank you for the information, Eddie.

I have asked the ntl helpline about this. They said that the @dtn.ntl.com addresses are no longer in use by them, and that some third party must have configured their own mail server to use them. When I asked how could mail addressed to myname@dtn.ntl.com be successfully delivered to me when that was not a valid address for me, I was told that the server must be employing 'carbon copying' whereby anything addressed to the @dtn.ntl.com address was redirected to the corresponding @ntlworld.com address with the headings forged so as to hide the fact. Their advice was simply to treat all such mail as spam.

I cannot believe that some spammer has gone to these lengths just to target me. Is nobody else getting these 'dtn' bounces?

A whois search on dtn.ntl.com drew a blank. Call me paranoid, but I cannot help feeling that there is more to this than just another spammer's ploy.
everyone who has a ntlworld address also has a dtn address - its an alias for the same thing.
threadbare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:16.


Links
Google
 
Web www.cableforum.co.uk


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2003 - 2008, Cable Forum.
(s204569790.onlinehome.info)