Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Phishing email


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service > Webspace, E-Mail & Browsing Issues

Phishing email
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2011, 09:35   #1
freeair
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockport
Posts: 93
freeair is on a distinguished roadfreeair is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Phishing email

Beware, there may be a phishing email doing the rounds.

Received one this morning purporting to come from Virgin Media (VirginMedia.B2KJL.10787@emails.image.email.virgin media.com)

Subject 'billing failure'.

Message basically saying they could not process the latest bill so please click on this link and confirm your billing details.

Yeh right!
freeair is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-01-2011, 09:39   #2
Peter_
Catjack
 
Peter_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Liverpool
Services: Samsung V+ XL TV XL Phone 30Mb Superhub Nokia N8
Posts: 19,870
Peter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered stars
Peter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered stars
Re: Phishing email

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeair View Post
Beware, there may be a phishing email doing the rounds.

Received one this morning purporting to come from Virgin Media (VirginMedia.B2KJL.10787@emails.image.email.virgin media.com)

Subject 'billing failure'.

Message basically saying they could not process the latest bill so please click on this link and confirm your billing details.

Yeh right!
It is listed here http://netreport.virginmedia.com/netreport/
__________________
"Religion was invented when the first con man met the first fool." - Mark Twain (1835 - 1910) now that has a ring of truth to it.
Peter_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 10:19   #3
hansi
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 650
hansi is on a distinguished roadhansi is on a distinguished road
Re: Phishing email

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeair View Post
Beware, there may be a phishing email doing the rounds.

Received one this morning purporting to come from Virgin Media (VirginMedia.B2KJL.10787@emails.image.email.virgin media.com)

Subject 'billing failure'.

Message basically saying they could not process the latest bill so please click on this link and confirm your billing details.

Yeh right!
Yes, I had one this morning too, the second one I have had. Arrived in my junk folder.
hansi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2011, 15:52   #4
brooza
Leeds Rhinos fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Services: XL TV L Broadband M Phone
Posts: 55
brooza is on a distinguished roadbrooza is on a distinguished road
Re: Phishing email

Amusingly the link shows up as omgswimwear .com

They could have tried a bit harder...
brooza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2011, 16:00   #5
Nopanic
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northwest
Posts: 2,213
Nopanic has disabled reputation
Re: Phishing email

You'd be surprised how many people actually mess up and do as instructed in these emails.

Its a real worry.
Nopanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2011, 16:22   #6
qasdfdsaq
B&.
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,323
qasdfdsaq has disabled reputation
Re: Phishing email

You'd be surprised how many people actually mess up and click links in emails specifically instructing them NOT to click those links. One of our staff forwarded a phishing mail with a note to NOT click it, this is a scam, and they STILL did it...
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2011, 16:51   #7
Toto
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,366
Toto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appeal
Toto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appealToto has a bronzed appeal
Re: Phishing email

The omgswimwear one, is that still doing the rounds? Can someone PM me the link please, I thought that was shut down by the hosts.
__________________
Toto

http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/image.php?u=6881&dateline=1172428039&type=sigpic
Toto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 02:06   #8
mike24
cf.addict
 
mike24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Southsea
Services: super hub 30Mbps Tv, phone
Posts: 124
mike24 will become famous soon enoughmike24 will become famous soon enoughmike24 will become famous soon enough
Re: Phishing email

Their is anthother phishing scam doing the rounds claiming to be from HMRC.
If you come across this, forward it to HMRC, and delete it.
Got the warning from my union.
michael
mike24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Google Search




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2003 - 2012, Cable Forum.
(server1.cableforum.co.uk)

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2