NTL mail server blacklisted
28-04-2007, 14:22
|
#1
|
|
Permanently Banned
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: IN my dreams
Age: 19
Services: AIRTEL
Posts: 49
|
NTL mail server blacklisted
Please be apprised that the NTL SMTP mail server has been blacklisted in the SORBS database :
SERVER NAME : 81.103.221.48
H:\>nslookup 81.103.221.48
Server: daku3-d2.daksh.local
Address: 172.30.1.42
Name: mtaout02-winn.ispmail.ntl.com
Address: 81.103.221.48
SORBS has confirmed the same :
Database of servers sending to spamtrap addresses
Address: 81.103.221.48
Record Created: Mon Apr 16 22:33:47 2007 GMT
Record Updated: Wed Apr 25 22:51:10 2007 GMT
Additional Information: from mtaout02-winn.ispmail.ntl.com ([81.103.221.48])
by 0 with SMTP; 16 Apr 2007 16:34:24 -0000
Currently active and flagged to be published in DNS
If you wish to request a delisting please do so through the Support System.
Database of servers sending to spamtrap addresses
Address: 81.103.221.48
Record Created: Mon Apr 16 22:33:47 2007 GMT
Record Updated: Wed Apr 25 22:51:10 2007 GMT
Additional Information: from mtaout02-winn.ispmail.ntl.com ([81.103.221.48])
by 0 with SMTP; 16 Apr 2007 16:34:24 -0000
Currently active and flagged to be published in DNS
If you wish to request a delisting please do so through the Support System.
|
|
|
28-04-2007, 16:17
|
#2
|
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway.
Services: Get.no 26Mb/3Mb Cable
Posts: 6,559
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
Ouch...
__________________
Intel C2D E8400@4Ghz (52c) | 2Gb HyperX RAM | nVidia 8800GT 512Mb (700/1000) | Corsair VX550w PSU | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | Win XP SP3 | 500Gb Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
|
|
|
28-04-2007, 16:19
|
#3
|
|
BSc Maths with Eco - UCL
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, HA0
Age: 20
Services: RETENTIONS offer: Bundle 3 + free tv + Star Plus. ANY PROBLEM??? :D
Posts: 756
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
wat does this mean for the normal user???
|
|
|
28-04-2007, 16:23
|
#4
|
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway.
Services: Get.no 26Mb/3Mb Cable
Posts: 6,559
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
http://www.us.sorbs.net/
In other words the ntl mail severs are flagged as spam hotspots pretty much
__________________
Intel C2D E8400@4Ghz (52c) | 2Gb HyperX RAM | nVidia 8800GT 512Mb (700/1000) | Corsair VX550w PSU | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | Win XP SP3 | 500Gb Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
|
|
|
28-04-2007, 19:49
|
#5
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Services: Virgin Media XL
Broadband L
Virgin Mobile
V+ installed!
and a happy Virgin Media customer
Posts: 1,359
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
I had this problem with a company I worked for - they "unlisted" the domain so that I could send emails.
|
|
|
29-04-2007, 12:48
|
#6
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,393
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
Checked senderbase today, and it appears to be clear.
http://www.senderbase.org/search?sea...=81.103.221.48
Ironically NTL used to subscribe to the SORBS DB for first line email filtering, they don't anymore.
__________________
Toto
|
|
|
30-04-2007, 08:57
|
#7
|
|
Neon Pringle Baka Ranger
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cardiff
Age: 29
Services: ntl Phone, ntl Digital TV, ntl Cable (10 Mbps)
Posts: 405
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
Quote:
Originally Posted by wafer_style
Server: daku3-d2.daksh.local
|
Do you work for IBM out of interest?
Quote:
[font=Courier New]Database of servers sending to spamtrap addresses
Address: 81.103.221.48
|
That means someone sent to a sorbs spamtrap address from an ntl mailserver.
Or that someone sent an email to an ntl address with a reply to address of a sorbs spamtrap and that ntl address had an autoresponder.. I think this happened to Yahoo a lot with their groups subscription addresses.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto
Ironically NTL used to subscribe to the SORBS DB for first line email filtering, they don't anymore.
|
Last I heard they still do, but only in conjunction with other blacklists.
ntl had been on SORBS before, but not for some time (the last time I recall was after the mail platform migration)
|
|
|
25-05-2007, 19:26
|
#8
|
|
cf.addict
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ashford, Kent
Age: 35
Services: 50mbps Trial
Posts: 115
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
It appears a whole load of IP ranges are blocked by MAPS. It appears to be a Trend Micro Service. There is too much info put put in the post so click on the link for more info. Basically 82.46.x.x and 82.47.x.x is blocked plus a few others.
|
|
|
25-05-2007, 19:41
|
#9
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,393
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
Quote:
Originally Posted by markknell
It appears a whole load of IP ranges are blocked by MAPS. It appears to be a Trend Micro Service. There is too much info put put in the post so click on the link for more info. Basically 82.46.x.x and 82.47.x.x is blocked plus a few others.
|
A few others...more like loads others
__________________
Toto
|
|
|
25-05-2007, 19:48
|
#10
|
|
cf.addict
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ashford, Kent
Age: 35
Services: 50mbps Trial
Posts: 115
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
This is one of the reasons I have always used an external mail service. I've never, ever had a problem with Yahoo. Good luck to all this affects.
|
|
|
25-05-2007, 20:03
|
#11
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,393
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
Quote:
Originally Posted by markknell
This is one of the reasons I have always used an external mail service. I've never, ever had a problem with Yahoo. Good luck to all this affects.
|
Problem you will get with external mail servers is that if your personal IP address in on a block list you may still get blocked.
__________________
Toto
|
|
|
25-05-2007, 20:09
|
#12
|
|
Permanently Banned
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: IN my dreams
Age: 19
Services: AIRTEL
Posts: 49
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
actually NTL raised a trouble ticket for this issue and it was resolved .
TOTO : could you please tell me as whether NTL is still tied with SORBS in any way or whether it now uses a different RBL ?? ....
|
|
|
26-05-2007, 15:53
|
#13
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,393
|
Re: NTL mail server blacklisted
Quote:
Originally Posted by wafer_style
actually NTL raised a trouble ticket for this issue and it was resolved .
TOTO : could you please tell me as whether NTL is still tied with SORBS in any way or whether it now uses a different RBL ?? ....
|
Hi.
I believe they no longer subscribe to the SORBS RBL, they still use Spamhaus, and I think they use Spamcop too.
I'm not 100% certain on the Spamcop RBL though.
__________________
Toto
|
|
|
|
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:33.
|