Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | email from ntlworld admin ????


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Security & Virus Discussion

email from ntlworld admin ????
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2004, 15:35   #1
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: N. Yorks
Posts: 17
st-clares is an unknown quantity at this point
email from ntlworld admin ????

Twice in the last 2 days I have received an email with the senders address as ntlworld admin. The message previewed on Mailwasher says an excessive amount of traffic is coming from my computer?. It also has an attachment.

I do not believe NTL would send attachments, as Microsoft often states. I am sure these emails contain a virus.

I have deleted these with Mailwasher as I am 99.99% certain I am not infected, I am on dialup and have not noticed any excessive outgoing traffic.

Anyone else received these or have an explanation?
st-clares is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 15:36   #2
?£$!$?%£"
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 278
br3ach has a spectacular aura about thembr3ach has a spectacular aura about thembr3ach has a spectacular aura about thembr3ach has a spectacular aura about them
Send a message via MSN to br3ach
Re: email from ntlworld admin ????

It is a virus

Delete it

This has been covered on loads of threads on the forum allready.

Its a spoof email.
br3ach is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 16:02   #3
stringy
 
homealone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cleethorpes
Age: 55
Services: VM XLplus
Posts: 15,482
homealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aura
homealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aurahomealone has a golden aura
Re: email from ntlworld admin ????

I've had a couple of these, but even previewing with mailwasher triggered my anti virus program & I deleted them from there. If I was you I would check your AV program has the latest update
__________________
Gaz
homealone is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 16:08   #4
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,239
Neil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze array
Neil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze array
Re: email from ntlworld admin ????

http://forum.nthellworld.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8779

Thread now closed due to duplication, please try to make use of the site's search facilty before double posting.

Thanks.
Neil is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:15.


Links
Google
 
Web www.cableforum.co.uk


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2003 - 2008, Cable Forum.
(s204569790.onlinehome.info)