Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | dodgy email 'from ntl'


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Security & Virus Discussion

dodgy email 'from ntl'
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2004, 13:11   #1
Counteruh!!!
 
danielf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,221
danielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered stars
danielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered stars
dodgy email 'from ntl'

My gf received an email on her ntl account that appears to contain a virus (though I'm not sure as I've only read it on webmail on a mac).

The text is as follows

Quote:
Dear user of Ntlworld.com e-mail server gateway,

Our main mailing server will be temporary unavaible for next two days,
to continue receiving mail in these days you have to configure our free
auto-forwarding service.

For details see the attach.

Best wishes,
The Ntlworld.com team
The subject is 'Important notify about your e-mail account.'

The attachment is called moreinfo.pif

Looks dodgy (if only for the bad grammar/spelling), and I thought I'd post it here as it purports to be from ntlworld.
__________________
Oh Oh Ranje
We houden allemaal van jou, de spelers en het rood wit blauw.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I wish I knew where I was going, cause I have to get back as well.
danielf is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 13:16   #2
It wasn't me
 
swoop101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester 23
Age: 48
Services: VIP pack 20Mb most of the time.
Posts: 1,775
swoop101 has reached the bronze age
swoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze ageswoop101 has reached the bronze age
Send a message via MSN to swoop101
Re: dodgy email 'from ntl'

Quite right, it is bogus.
The latest virus attachments are coming through as .pif files to confuse people who have become wary of the usual .zip etc
__________________
Just Being Myself
swoop101 is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 13:20   #3
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 33
denial has disabled reputation
Re: dodgy email 'from ntl'

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielf
My gf received an email on her ntl account that appears to contain a virus (though I'm not sure as I've only read it on webmail on a mac).

The text is as follows



The subject is 'Important notify about your e-mail account.'

The attachment is called moreinfo.pif

Looks dodgy (if only for the bad grammar/spelling), and I thought I'd post it here as it purports to be from ntlworld.

Received one today indicating it was from NTL containing a .zip file, with the following message, again looks dodgy.


Quote:

Dear user of "Ntlworld.com" mailing system,

Our antivirus software has detected a large ammount of viruses outgoing
from your email account, you may use our free anti-virus tool to clean up
your computer software.

For more information see the attached file.

Attached file protected with the password for security reasons. Password is 12058.

Sincerely,
The Ntlworld.com team

Attached MoreInfo.zip
Dan
denial is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 13:27   #4
Counteruh!!!
 
danielf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,221
danielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered stars
danielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered starsdanielf is seeing silvered stars
Re: dodgy email 'from ntl'

I just noticed this has been discussed recently

http://forum.nthellworld.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8779

Perhaps this thread should be merged or removed?
__________________
Oh Oh Ranje
We houden allemaal van jou, de spelers en het rood wit blauw.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I wish I knew where I was going, cause I have to get back as well.
danielf is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 13:48   #5
Busy Admin
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 45
Services: VM Phone : Sky+ Multiroom : VM Cable (20 Mbps)
Posts: 14,425
Paul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny star
Paul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny starPaul M has a nice shiny star
Send a message via ICQ to Paul M
Re: dodgy email 'from ntl'

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielf
I just noticed this has been discussed recently

http://forum.nthellworld.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8779

Perhaps this thread should be merged or removed?
Yep - another Bagle e-mail.
__________________
DigiGuide Click here for a real, interactive, tv guide.
Paul M is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 13:52   #6
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,239
Neil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze array
Neil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze array
Re: dodgy email 'from ntl'

Thread closed due to duplication-link to original provided.

Please try to use the search feature before posting, thanks.
Neil is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:40.


Links
Google
 
Web www.cableforum.co.uk


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2003 - 2008, Cable Forum.
(s204569790.onlinehome.info)