Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Are ntl distributing virii?


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Security & Virus Discussion

Are ntl distributing virii?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2004, 09:58   #1
Inactive
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
John Mc is an unknown quantity at this point
Are ntl distributing virii?

WARNING
Had 2 emails this morning purportedlt from ntl.

>Subject: Important notify about your e-mail account.
> Dear user of Ntlworld.com,
>
> Your e-mail account has been temporary disabled because of unauthorized
access.
>
> Please, read the attach for further details.
>
> Attached file protected with the password for security reasons. Password
is 37733.
>
> Kind regards,
> The Ntlworld.com team
http://www.ntlworld.com
>


and: -
>Subject: E-mail account security warning.
> Dear user, the management of Ntlworld.com mailing system wants to let
you know that,
>
> Some of our clients complained about the spam (negative e-mail content)
> outgoing from your e-mail account. Probably, you have been infected by
> a proxy-relay trojan server. In order to keep your computer safe,
> follow the instructions.
>
> Please, read the attach for further details.
>
> In order to read the attach you have to use the following password:
37733.
>
> Have a good day,
> The Ntlworld.com team
http://www.ntlworld.com
>

I'm not that daft! Even ntl don't use such poor grammar (do they?), I have an up to date antivirus so I scanned before opening.

Both had virus attachments. Knowing that ntl's internal mail strips attachments I have forwarded to Peter Savage, the supposed senders and to Customer Services.

Isn't it about time ntl got their email house in order? How come other ISP's have virus checkers and anti-spam in place and ours doesn't?
John Mc is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 10:01   #2
stuartbe
Guest
 
Location: Luton
Services: NTL Nafband
Posts: n/a
Re: Are ntl distributing virii?

Hi John Mc and a great big to the site m8

The email you are talking about is spoofed and was not sent from NTL...

More info on this thread - http://forum.nthellworld.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8779

HTH
 
Old 05-03-2004, 10:18   #3
Meningitis sucks
 
zovat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bracknell
Age: 38
Services: NTL Telephone 3M Broadband - CM Sky TV
Posts: 1,246
zovat has reached the bronze age
zovat has reached the bronze agezovat has reached the bronze agezovat has reached the bronze agezovat has reached the bronze agezovat has reached the bronze agezovat has reached the bronze agezovat has reached the bronze agezovat has reached the bronze age
Send a message via MSN to zovat
Re: Are ntl distributing virii?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Mc
WARNING
Had 2 emails this morning purportedlt from ntl.

>Subject: Important notify about your e-mail account.
> Dear user of Ntlworld.com,
>
> Your e-mail account has been temporary disabled because of unauthorized
access.
>
> Please, read the attach for further details.
>
> Attached file protected with the password for security reasons. Password
is 37733.
>
> Kind regards,
> The Ntlworld.com team
http://www.ntlworld.com
>


and: -
>Subject: E-mail account security warning.
> Dear user, the management of Ntlworld.com mailing system wants to let
you know that,
>
> Some of our clients complained about the spam (negative e-mail content)
> outgoing from your e-mail account. Probably, you have been infected by
> a proxy-relay trojan server. In order to keep your computer safe,
> follow the instructions.
>
> Please, read the attach for further details.
>
> In order to read the attach you have to use the following password:
37733.
>
> Have a good day,
> The Ntlworld.com team
http://www.ntlworld.com
>

I'm not that daft! Even ntl don't use such poor grammar (do they?), I have an up to date antivirus so I scanned before opening.

Both had virus attachments. Knowing that ntl's internal mail strips attachments I have forwarded to Peter Savage, the supposed senders and to Customer Services.

Isn't it about time ntl got their email house in order? How come other ISP's have virus checkers and anti-spam in place and ours doesn't?
this is not from NTL - is is just spookfin NTL mail addresses : see http://forum.nthellworld.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8779..

Edit: Damn you stuartbe...
__________________
All opinions stated here are just that opinions - feel free to ignore them or disagree with them.
I speak for myself and no-one else.
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/ZovatSig.jpg

Last edited by zovat; 05-03-2004 at 10:18. Reason: damns stuartbe beat me again...
zovat is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 10:20   #4
stuartbe
Guest
 
Location: Luton
Services: NTL Nafband
Posts: n/a
Re: Are ntl distributing virii?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zovat
Edit: Damn you stuartbe...
Sorry m8
 
Old 05-03-2004, 10:31   #5
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,239
Neil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze array
Neil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze array
Re: Are ntl distributing virii?

Thread closed ue to duplication (link to original provided)
Neil is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:44.


Links
Google
 
Web www.cableforum.co.uk


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2003 - 2008, Cable Forum.
(s204569790.onlinehome.info)