Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Warning, Fake VM Phishing e-mail doing the rounds


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Security & Virus Discussion

Warning, Fake VM Phishing e-mail doing the rounds
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2012, 00:22   #1
Tim Deegan
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Services: 3 phone lines, 100mb broadband, and TV x2 (including one Tivo)
Posts: 1,929
Tim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of society
Exclamation Warning, Fake VM Phishing e-mail doing the rounds

I don't know if I have put this in the right section, but if I haven't then feel free to move it mods.

I have just received an e-mail with the title: Important information about your email service - please read

It has been sent from: Virgin Media <noreply@mailer.vm-online.co.uk> which doesn't even appear to be a Virgin Media domain.

These e-mails appear to be phishing e-mails (unless a member of VM staff cab tell me otherwise). So if you receive one, then don't respond, or click on any of the links.

Stay Safe
Tim Deegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-01-2012, 00:50   #2
Maggy J
Cable Forum Team
 
Maggy J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: between Portsmouth and Southampton.
Age: 59
Services: VM XL TV,VM 10MB,VM Phone and V+HD box.No VM Mobile
Posts: 32,435
Maggy J has a golden auraMaggy J has a golden auraMaggy J has a golden auraMaggy J has a golden aura
Maggy J has a golden auraMaggy J has a golden auraMaggy J has a golden auraMaggy J has a golden auraMaggy J has a golden auraMaggy J has a golden aura
Send a message via Yahoo to Maggy J
Re: Warning, Fake VM Phishing e-mail doing the rounds

Moved to Security and Virus Discussion
__________________
.Bold=Mod
Maggy J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 01:58   #3
Tim Deegan
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Services: 3 phone lines, 100mb broadband, and TV x2 (including one Tivo)
Posts: 1,929
Tim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of societyTim Deegan is a pillar of society
Re: Warning, Fake VM Phishing e-mail doing the rounds

Thanks Maggy
Tim Deegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 06:55   #4
Halcyon
Hello !
 
Halcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: East Midlands
Services: VMedia 10mb
Posts: 14,877
Halcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny stars
Halcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny starsHalcyon has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Warning, Fake VM Phishing e-mail doing the rounds

There is another similar Email coming from HM Revenue and customs but if you check the link you'l see it sends you to some dodgy site.
Everyone be careful!
__________________
.
-

Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:00   #5
Peter_
Catjack
 
Peter_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Liverpool
Services: Samsung V+ XL TV XL Phone 30Mb Superhub Nokia N8
Posts: 19,868
Peter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered stars
Peter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered starsPeter_ is seeing silvered stars
Re: Warning, Fake VM Phishing e-mail doing the rounds

Any suspicious email should be reported here, the are similar ones listed.

http://netreport.virginmedia.com/netreport/
__________________
"Religion was invented when the first con man met the first fool." - Mark Twain (1835 - 1910) now that has a ring of truth to it.
Peter_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Google Search




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2003 - 2012, Cable Forum.
(server1.cableforum.co.uk)

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2