Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Phishing email claiming to be from Virgin Media


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Security & Virus Discussion

Phishing email claiming to be from Virgin Media
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2010, 18:00   #1
alferret
twitter.com/alferret
 
alferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Snowed in.....
Age: 45
Services: Freesat HD x2 - V+ box,10mb BB & a phone.
Posts: 3,922
alferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronze
alferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronzealferret is cast in bronze
Phishing email claiming to be from Virgin Media

Just popped into my mailbox.

the site links to

<LINK REMOVED - THOMAS T>

Last edited by dilligaf1701; 09-07-2010 at 18:17.
alferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 18:12   #2
dilligaf1701
One handed 'n' blind :)
 
dilligaf1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Near Biggleswade
Age: 36
Services: SKY OFFNET VM
Posts: 15,271
dilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver bling
dilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver blingdilligaf1701 has a lot of silver bling
Re: Phishing email claiming to be from Virgin Media

Don't post the link, or everyone will be clicking on it. I've removed it for you

Yup the domain rygegrej dot dk does look dodgy indeed.

Also moved to security and virus discussion.
__________________
1/60 (L) 2/60 (R) + Photophobia

Whitewatch - Stevenage... You LUCKY people!

Last edited by dilligaf1701; 09-07-2010 at 18:22.
dilligaf1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 21:04   #3
Kymmy
Cable Forum Team
 
Kymmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Age: 43
Posts: 15,388
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Phishing email claiming to be from Virgin Media

IE8 now flashes the site up as unsafe, bypassing the warning takes you to a replica VM email login page.. Crafty you know whats!!!
Kymmy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 15:37   #4
Andyband
Broadband Enthusiast!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Andyband is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Phishing email claiming to be from Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by alferret View Post
Just popped into my mailbox.

the site links to

<LINK REMOVED - THOMAS T>

Good catch

Personally, I have a simple rule - I never click on any link, in any email.

If it claims to be from virigin media, just open your browser and navigate to your account as normal - no need to click on links in emails - its too risky these days!

It is also worth keeping an eye on your localhosts file (search on these forums, or google it) - to make sure you have not downloaded an attatchment that adds entries to this (if someone did edit your localhosts file, it could cause your browser to redirect you to another site whenether you try to go to virgin media's site (or paypal, or anyone else)...
Andyband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 17:54   #5
Stuart
Cable Forum Team
 
Stuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarf east Luhndun.
Services: Virgin for TV, BT for phone and Be* for Broadband.
Posts: 23,963
Stuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered stars
Stuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered starsStuart is seeing silvered stars
Send a message via MSN to Stuart Send a message via Skype™ to Stuart
Re: Phishing email claiming to be from Virgin Media

Sadly, these attempts are getting more and more frequent.

I've had emails appearing to be from all the major banks saying my account will be suspended. Although, oddly, I've never recieved one that appears to be from the actual bank I am with.

I've also had emails warning me that appear to be from the mail administrator at work saying my account will be disabled unless I click on the link. Would be interesting if that were the case. Our email admin is my drinking buddy. Funny he never mentions this..


I think the best advice is simple. If you get an email, do not click the link. If you are concerned, contact the company yourself, even if you just type their website URL into the address bar.
__________________
Just to make it clear if a post is bold and is from a team member, it's a moderating decision. If it's not bold or not from a team member, it's not.
Stuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 17:56   #6
snowey
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: teesside
Services: Virgin media, tv, telephone, cable bb, 10mb
Posts: 137
snowey has a spectacular aura about themsnowey has a spectacular aura about themsnowey has a spectacular aura about themsnowey has a spectacular aura about them
Thumbs up Re: Phishing email claiming to be from Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyband View Post
Good catch

Personally, I have a simple rule - I never click on any link, in any email.

If it claims to be from virigin media, just open your browser and navigate to your account as normal - no need to click on links in emails - its too risky these days!

It is also worth keeping an eye on your localhosts file (search on these forums, or google it) - to make sure you have not downloaded an attatchment that adds entries to this (if someone did edit your localhosts file, it could cause your browser to redirect you to another site whenether you try to go to virgin media's site (or paypal, or anyone else)...

Very good advice, Andyband,
snowey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Google Search




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2003 - 2012, Cable Forum.
(server1.cableforum.co.uk)

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2