Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | dont know if its safe


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Security & Virus Discussion

dont know if its safe
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2007, 07:16   #1
while(!naked){--clothes}
 
ikthius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Services: anything for a new job
Posts: 4,006
ikthius is cast in bronzeikthius is cast in bronzeikthius is cast in bronzeikthius is cast in bronze
ikthius is cast in bronzeikthius is cast in bronzeikthius is cast in bronze
dont know if its safe

got an email.....

from 123greetings.com

Hi,

Your classmate has sent you a greeting postcard from 123greetings.com.

If your email software creates links to Web pages, click on your card's direct www address below while you are connected to the Internet:

CLICK HERE TO VIEW YOUR ECARD

Send free ecards from 123greetings.com with your choice of colors, words and music.

Your ecard number is
ae987d9000be022d968088aea28abd4d5539

Best wishes,
Postmaster,
123greetings.com

hovering over the CLICK HER TO VIEW the link is for:
theharders.com/adam/tree/Xmas_greetingsCard.exe

just thought I would let you all know incase you get such a card..... it has an exe, I for one dont trust it, as I have not been to school for over 14 years

ik
__________________
Let me guess, you picked out yet another colorful box with a crank that I'm expected to turn and turn until OOP! big shock, a jack pops out and you laugh and the kids laugh and the dog laughs and I die a little inside.
ikthius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 11:41   #2
Rob
Cable Forum Team
 
Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Age: 44
Posts: 11,608
Rob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny stars
Rob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny starsRob has a pair of shiny stars
Re: dont know if its safe

I wouldn't trust it at all. The link gives the game away as not being from 123greetings but somewhere else.
__________________
The NTHW Gaming Clan! ~ Call of Duty Gameservers and More!

Help Cable Forum's MiniCity grow:
Population|Industry|Transport|Security|Environment|Business
Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 12:09   #3
Eric Cartman Wannabe
 
punky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cockney geeza land
Age: 27
Services: c:\> net start punky
Posts: 12,012
punky has a lot of silver blingpunky has a lot of silver blingpunky has a lot of silver blingpunky has a lot of silver blingpunky has a lot of silver bling
punky has a lot of silver blingpunky has a lot of silver blingpunky has a lot of silver bling
Re: dont know if its safe

The site its hosted on doesn't seen like it belongs to a virus company. Its a personal site. Its probably worth e-mailing him in case his hosting has been hacked.

---------- Post added at 12:09 ---------- Previous post was at 11:44 ----------

I've e-mailed him, see what happens.
__________________
"We're not here for a long time, we're here for a good time" - Mike Ness (Social Distortion)
"Reach for the sky, 'cause tomorrow may never come" - Reach For The Sky (Social Distortion)
punky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 08:53   #4
cf.mega poster
 
AbyssUnderground's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Middlesbrough (TS6)
Age: 19
Services: 10Mbps NTL Broadband SACM
Posts: 1,083
AbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of QuadsAbyssUnderground has a fine set of Quads
Re: dont know if its safe

I just downloaded this file and scanned it with AVG, its a Trojan. AVG automatically deleted it.
__________________

http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/ispphorm/sign
http://www.abyssunderground.co.uk - Help setting up a webserver at home
AbyssUnderground is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 13:03   #5
cf.member
 
waynetaylor1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester
Services: Subscribed to VIP Package. V+ Box, Sky Sports, Sky Movies, Talk Unlimited, 10MB Broadband and Extra
Posts: 88
waynetaylor1982 is just really nicewaynetaylor1982 is just really nicewaynetaylor1982 is just really nicewaynetaylor1982 is just really nicewaynetaylor1982 is just really nicewaynetaylor1982 is just really nice
Re: dont know if its safe

This file is definately non-legitimate. By browser through a wobbly when I navigate to the link (works custom built add-on)

A virus scan will verify the .exe file as a trojan and will delete it.
waynetaylor1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31.


Links
Google
 
Web www.cableforum.co.uk


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2003 - 2008, Cable Forum.
(s204569790.onlinehome.info)