Quote:
Originally Posted by Davyboy123
Hi,
I am a long time customer. Started with Cable and Wireless, became NTL then VIRGINMEDIA took over.( I am on the VM VIP Package 20MB BB etc)
As a result of the C&W move my Email was migrated to Boltblue years ago. This gave me an email address of xxxx.xxxx@boltblue.com.
Using the settings
POP3.boltblue.com and Smtp.ntlworld.com everything has worked fine for 5 years plus. Until now........Error Message below.
Unable to send or receive messages for the Dave.xxxxxxxx account. Your server has unexpectedly terminated the connection. Possible causes for this include server problems, network problems, or a long period of inactivity.
Server: 'pop3.boltblue.com'
Windows Live Mail Error ID: 0x800CCC0F
Protocol: POP3
Port: 110
Secure(SSL): No
Can anybody offer any advice ? Support@boltblue.com seems to have closed down!
Thanks
|
Interesting.
The Boltblue pop server is hosted on an Amazon Cloud system, that could be the issue.
host pop3.boltblue.com
pop3.boltblue.com has address 174.129.220.64
whois 174.129.220.64
#
# Query terms are ambiguous. The query is assumed to be:
# "n 174.129.220.64"
#
# Use "?" to get help.
#
#
# The following results may also be obtained via:
#
http://whois.arin.net/rest/nets;q=17...showARIN=false
#
NetRange: 174.129.0.0 - 174.129.255.255
CIDR: 174.129.0.0/16
OriginAS:
NetName: AMAZON-EC2-5
NetHandle: NET-174-129-0-0-1
Parent: NET-174-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Assignment
NameServer: PDNS3.ULTRADNS.ORG
NameServer: PDNS2.ULTRADNS.NET
NameServer: PDNS1.ULTRADNS.NET
Comment: The activity you have detected originates from a
Comment: dynamic hosting environment.
Comment: For fastest response, please submit abuse reports at
Comment:
http://aws-portal.amazon.com/gp/aws/...actus/AWSAbuse
Comment: For more information regarding EC2 see:
Comment:
http://ec2.amazonaws.com/
Comment: All reports MUST include:
Comment: * src IP
Comment: * dest IP (your IP)
Comment: * dest port
Comment: * Accurate date/timestamp and timezone of activity
Comment: * Intensity/frequency (short log extracts)
Comment: * Your contact details (phone and email)
Comment: Without these we will be unable to identify
Comment: the correct owner of the IP address at that
Comment: point in time.
RegDate: 2008-08-08
Updated: 2010-05-28
Ref:
http://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-174-129-0-0-1
OrgName: Amazon.com, Inc.
OrgId: AMAZO-4
Address: Amazon Web Services, Elastic Compute Cloud, EC2
Address: 1200 12th Avenue South
City: Seattle
StateProv: WA
PostalCode: 98144
Country: US
RegDate: 2005-09-29
Updated: 2009-06-02
Comment: For details of this service please see
Comment:
http://ec2.amazonaws.com/
Ref:
http://whois.arin.net/rest/org/AMAZO-4
OrgAbuseHandle: AEA8-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Amazon EC2 Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-206-266-4064
OrgAbuseEmail:
ec2-abuse@amazon.com
OrgAbuseRef:
http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/AEA8-ARIN
OrgTechHandle: ANO24-ARIN
OrgTechName: Amazon EC2 Network Operations
OrgTechPhone: +1-206-266-4064
OrgTechEmail:
aes-noc@amazon.com
OrgTechRef:
http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/ANO24-ARIN
RNOCHandle: ANO24-ARIN
RNOCName: Amazon EC2 Network Operations
RNOCPhone: +1-206-266-4064
RNOCEmail:
aes-noc@amazon.com
RNOCRef:
http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/ANO24-ARIN
RTechHandle: ANO24-ARIN
RTechName: Amazon EC2 Network Operations
RTechPhone: +1-206-266-4064
RTechEmail:
aes-noc@amazon.com
RTechRef:
http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/ANO24-ARIN
RAbuseHandle: AEA8-ARIN
RAbuseName: Amazon EC2 Abuse
RAbusePhone: +1-206-266-4064
RAbuseEmail:
ec2-abuse@amazon.com
RAbuseRef:
http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/AEA8-ARIN
#
# ARIN WHOIS data and services are subject to the Terms of Use
# available at:
https://www.arin.net/whois_tou.html
#