View Single Post
Old 17-03-2010, 08:35   #1
Kymmy
Cable Forum Team
 
Kymmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Age: 43
Posts: 16,278
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
New email spam attempt

One I'd never seen before is this sent to one of my emails

Quote:
Dear Manager:

We are a Domain Name registration service company, which is a professional Internet Domain Name Registration and dispute resolution organization in China.
On March.17th,2010, We received XXXXXXXXX Investment company's application that they are registering the name " xxxxxx " as their Internet Keyword and " xxxxxx .cn "、" xxxxxx .com.cn " 、" xxxxxx .asia " 、" xxxxxx .hk "domain names etc..,It is China and ASIA and HongKong domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Best regards,

John
Oversea marketing manager
Tel:+86(0)21 xxxx xxxx
Fax:+86(0)21 xxxx xxxx
web:www.xxxxxxx.cn
This must either be an attempt to either get you to buy the domains yourself (the web link did go to a domain seller for these domains) or to harvest the return email address as valid.. Anyway guys look out for it as it is actually one of the most plausible spam emails I've seen for a long time

Last edited by Kymmy; 17-03-2010 at 08:43.
Kymmy is offline   Reply With Quote