20-02-2012, 10:59
|
#1
|
|
cf.member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 89
|
Possible Phishing email
Today I got this email supposedly from Virgin Media.
I have paid them this month with no problems, so i'm assuming it is either a phishing attempt or a balls up by VM.
:::Email below:::
Virgin Media Automated Billing Reminder
Date 20th February 2012
This e-mail has been sent you by Virgin Media to inform you that we were
unable to process your most recent payment of bill. This might be due to
one of the following reasons:
A recent change in your personal information such as Name or address.
Your Credit or Debit card has expired.
Insufficient funds in your account.
Cancellation of Direct Debit agreement.
Your Card issuer did not authorize this transaction.
To avoid Service interruption you will need to update your billing profile, failure to update your profile may lead in service cancellation and termination.
Please click on the link below to login to e-Billing. You will need to login using your primary E-mail address.
» Update your Virgin Media Billing Profile here
Once logged in you will need to fill in the required fields, please ensure all address and contact details are up to date, once submitted your account details will automatically be updated within 24 Hours.
Kind Regards
Virgin Media
Customer Services Team
David William
|
|
|
20-02-2012, 11:06
|
#2
|
|
cf.mega poser
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 16,412
|
Re: Possible Phishing email
Judging by the poor English, my guess is that it's a phishing attempt.
__________________
Remember kids: We are blessed with a listening, caring government.
|
|
|
20-02-2012, 11:09
|
#3
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Sep 2011
Services: 3 phone lines, 100mb broadband, and TV x2 (including one Tivo)
Posts: 2,128
|
Re: Possible Phishing email
I also got that (twice) last night.
I would like to think that VM would tell you to log on to your account, rather than tell you to click onto a link.
It is a phishing e-mail, because VM owe me a huge credit due to something they messed up, and my account should be in credit anyway. But I decided to check on line, but the billing is down at the moment. So I checked my bank account, and there is no record of an attempt to take money by VM.
Ignore it!
|
|
|
20-02-2012, 11:09
|
#4
|
|
cf.member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 89
|
Re: Possible Phishing email
Definately is a phishing email as I have contacted VM about it.
Is there a forwarding email I can send it on for VM attention?
Thanks
|
|
|
20-02-2012, 11:30
|
#5
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Sep 2011
Services: 3 phone lines, 100mb broadband, and TV x2 (including one Tivo)
Posts: 2,128
|
Re: Possible Phishing email
Quote:
Originally Posted by robolots
Definately is a phishing email as I have contacted VM about it.
Is there a forwarding email I can send it on for VM attention?
Thanks
|
I've searched for an address to report VM phishing e-mails before, but never found one.
I have an e-mail for someone who deals with internet fraud at the police. So I just forward all phishing e-mails to her. So I would contact your local police to see if you can do the same.
---------- Post added at 12:30 ---------- Previous post was at 12:17 ----------
Already received a read receipt from the police. So hopefully they will act on it.
|
|
|
20-02-2012, 11:33
|
#6
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,278
|
Re: Possible Phishing email
A list of known phishes can seen at http://netreport.virginmedia.com/netreport/,and you can report new ones there.
It looks like they already know about this one.
|
|
|
20-02-2012, 11:38
|
#7
|
|
cf.addict
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Services: TV XL ,TiVo & V+HD
60Mb Broadband
XL phone
Posts: 420
|
Re: Possible Phishing email
This address can be used for reporting fishing emails etc
http://netreport.virginmedia.com/netreport/
It even includes an example from the first post here.
|
|
|
|
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT. The time now is 22:46.
|