23-03-2004, 21:36
|
#1
|
|
Inactive
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 11
|
Web Blocking
Can someone explain the message I get when logging onto
Gardenweb.com and how to go about fixing it ?
It appears to say that NTL is an irresponsible ISP
Both Gardenweb and NTL tell me it is the others Fault !?!
David
|
|
|
23-03-2004, 21:38
|
#2
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester, Term time= Lancaster
Age: 22
Services: Sky TV, 16MB BB.
Posts: 3,527
|
Re: Web Blocking
I get onto it fine, can you be more specific about the message?
|
|
|
23-03-2004, 21:41
|
#3
|
|
Inactive
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 11
|
Re: Web Blocking
Due to problems with your Internet accesss provider, we cannot allow you to access our site.
We strongly advise you to find another, more responsible, access provider. If you are an access provider, either you, your users, or the users of an upstream network have caused this problem. Please see that it is resolved to our satisfaction and so this block can be removed.
|
|
|
23-03-2004, 21:42
|
#4
|
|
I've been here before?
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: I am house...
Services: $KY+, Vodafone USB Stick Broadband!
Posts: 2,212
|
Re: Web Blocking
Are you connecting via a different port? such as https://website:2086 or something? - If so, are you using a manual proxy in your browser config, if so try removing the manual proxy setting.
__________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't...
Better Hosting packages? - I'd offer you a deal and my domain is now up
|
|
|
23-03-2004, 21:44
|
#5
|
|
cf.mega poster
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester, Term time= Lancaster
Age: 22
Services: Sky TV, 16MB BB.
Posts: 3,527
|
Re: Web Blocking
Very strange message  - is this a joke?
Are you are connecting to the right site? Checked for spyware?
|
|
|
23-03-2004, 21:45
|
#6
|
|
Inactive
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 11
|
Re: Web Blocking
BLLLGGGxx
Note Dunces cap after signature !
I don't usually change anything in there.
|
|
|
23-03-2004, 21:47
|
#7
|
|
Inactive
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 11
|
Re: Web Blocking
I run Ad-Aware each night.
|
|
|
23-03-2004, 21:54
|
#8
|
|
Inactive
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 11
|
Re: Web Blocking
I get the same message when using favourites, Address Panel or via Google.
I can get on at work but that is with a different provider
Dave
|
|
|
24-03-2004, 15:39
|
#9
|
|
Inactive
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 11
|
Re: Web Blocking
I have just received the following message from the webmaster at Gardenweb.com
"We came under a denial of service attack via cache4-bagu.server.ntli.net and
cache3-bagu.server.ntli.net."
"They (NTL) need to offer an explanation and show to us what they have done to prevent
a recurrance."
Does anyone out there know what this means and what action I should take now?
I'm a novice in this area
Dave
|
|
|
24-03-2004, 15:45
|
#10
|
|
Guest
Location: Luton
Services: NTL Nafband
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Web Blocking
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by david.seale1
I have just received the following message from the webmaster at Gardenweb.com
"We came under a denial of service attack via cache4-bagu.server.ntli.net and
cache3-bagu.server.ntli.net."
"They (NTL) need to offer an explanation and show to us what they have done to prevent
a recurrance."
Does anyone out there know what this means and what action I should take now?
I'm a novice in this area
Dave
|
I would say that you need to forward the mail to abuse@ntlworld.com for investigation....
Seems a bit fishy now I think of it !! A DOS attack coming from a proxy !!!
|
|
|
|
24-03-2004, 16:02
|
#11
|
|
Guest
|
Re: Web Blocking
This isn`t the first instance of web site's blocking access via NTL proxies that I have come across. I've experienced periods when both the IMDB and Slashdot have blocked access via NTL proxies. I guess the problem with the proxies that a lot of legitimate traffic originating from them could appear to be a single user making excessive requests to a single site, hence the blockage.
With the IMDB issue, I e-mailed their support pointing out that they had actually blocked a proxy and they soon unblocked it. Does this site know that they have blocked a proxy, or are they assuming they have blocked an individual customer?
|
|
|
|
24-03-2004, 16:09
|
#12
|
|
Busy Admin
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 45
Services: VM Phone : Sky+ Multiroom : VM Cable (20 Mbps)
Posts: 14,485
|
Re: Web Blocking
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by david.seale1
I have just received the following message from the webmaster at Gardenweb.com
"We came under a denial of service attack via cache4-bagu.server.ntli.net and
cache3-bagu.server.ntli.net."
"They (NTL) need to offer an explanation and show to us what they have done to prevent
a recurrance."
Does anyone out there know what this means and what action I should take now?
I'm a novice in this area
Dave
|
A DOS attack from a cache server - that is very unlikely - I would ask them to explain but it's probably a waste of time.
Just manually specify another proxy when you want ot connect to the site.
__________________
Click here for a real, interactive, tv guide.
|
|
|
24-03-2004, 16:14
|
#13
|
|
Cable ceased I gone
Join Date: Jun 2003
Services: The wonders of Sky TV BT line and Aquiss.net ADSL cable dies on 5th RIP VM.
Posts: 3,996
|
Re: Web Blocking
I have been getting emails about DOS attacks on me from my own proxy started with one every few days but now its likje 8 a day. Pem said not to worry he thought it was the router being too touchy now I am thinkng perhaps not..
Quote:
From - Tue Mar 23 07:08:12 2004
X-UIDL: <20040323010131.QOYE5865.mta03-svc.ntlworld.com@smtp.ntlworld.com>
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path: <***********@ntlworld.com>
Received: from smtp.ntlworld.com ([81.97.2.212]) by mta03-svc.ntlworld.com
(InterMail vM.4.01.03.37 201-229-121-137-20020806) with SMTP
id <20040323010131.QOYE5865.mta03-svc.ntlworld.com@smtp.ntlworld.com>
for <***********@ntlworld.com>; Tue, 23 Mar 2004 01:01:31 +0000
From: <***********@ntlworld.com>
To: <***********@ntlworld.com>
Subject: Firewall Denial of Service Log
Message-Id: <20040323010131.QOYE5865.mta03-svc.ntlworld.com@smtp.ntlworld.com>
Date: Tue, 23 Mar 2004 01:01:31 +0000
SYN Flood DETECTED on TUE MAR 23 01:02:10 2004
targeting 192.168.0.10,4438, sent from 62.252.192.4,8080
|
that was the last one yesturday........ not picked up todays yet..
__________________
I'm enjoying Aquiss. Are you? Now happily surfing the internet phorm phree long may my surfing be phree of spyware.
nice one Good luck all.no need to hang around no longer cable customer
|
|
|
24-03-2004, 22:28
|
#14
|
|
Inactive
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 11
|
Re: Web Blocking
Pem
How do I manually specify a different server ?
Dave
|
|
|
24-03-2004, 22:38
|
#15
|
|
Busy Admin
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 45
Services: VM Phone : Sky+ Multiroom : VM Cable (20 Mbps)
Posts: 14,485
|
Re: Web Blocking
__________________
Click here for a real, interactive, tv guide.
|
|
|
|
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:56.
|