not a new phenomenon i know, but i thought i'd be worth posting about nonetheless as my company was targetted this morning.
the company "solus" or "solus online" (
http://www.solus-online.net) called up trying to get us to "secure" some domain names that some fictious client was going to register if we didn't do so.. fortunaly my boss asked me about it first before he got suckered and i smelled a rat straight away, so i told him i'd look into it.
my investigations started purely by looking up the company themselves.. which seems to have both changed locations and websites in the not too distant past.. (first bad sign)
then i phoned the contact to see if i could get any more incriminating evidence out of him... well it seems to fit all the trademarks of the scams you see documented around the place.. so I strung him along for a bit making out that i was really worried etc etc..
he made some very basic mistakes like: "our client wants to register the .co.uk domain of your .com address for 10 years" oops *bssst* you can only register a .co.uk for 2 years.
and the list goes on..
this company are definately a bunch of cowboys.. so my advice is to steer clear if you come across them.
i wasn't fooled for a second, and i know my boss wasn't taken in.. but to even a semi/moderately I.T literate person it may sound legitimate... so keep on your toes people