Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Is this a phishing scam?


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Internet Discussion

Is this a phishing scam?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-01-2012, 13:17   #1
James79
cf.addict
 
James79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belfast
Age: 33
Services: VIP50 (V+ & VHD Box); 1 Additional VHD Box
Posts: 387
James79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to James79
Is this a phishing scam?

I have two longstanding hotmail accounts (one is .com and the other .co.uk) and I have recently received two emails (one to each address) purported to be from "Windows Live Inc." which advises that they were unable to verify my account details which may be due to me recently changing personal information or submitted incorrect information during the setup process.

The email requests that I click on a link to verify the account, however, I have no intention to do so as I am somewhat suspicious of it. The email address from which is originated doesnt even look right?!

A copy of the email is provided below.

Quote:
*Hotmail-Team-member-services@wlive-on-line.yyey.66.49.184.56.co.uk

Dear [MY EMAIL ADDRESS OMITTED],

This e-mail has been sent to you by WindowsLive Hotmail to inform you that we were unable to verify your account details. This might be due to either of the following reasons:

1. A recent change in your personal information. (eg: address, phone)
2. Submitting incorrect information during register process.

Due to this, to ensure that your email service is not interrupted, we request you to confirm and update your information today by following the link below

[LINK REMOVED FOR SECURITY PURPOSES - JUST IN CASE]

If you have already confirmed your information then please disregard this message.

Regards,
Hotmail member services


Thanks for your cooperation.

© 2012 Windows Live inc.


Any thoughts?
James79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 19-01-2012, 13:19   #2
Kymmy
Cable Forum Team
 
Kymmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Age: 43
Posts: 16,278
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Is this a phishing scam?

Hover your mouse over the link and look at the URL.. I bet it doesn't go to Hotmail.com/live.com/MSN.com or anything associated with hotmal
Kymmy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2012, 13:22   #3
James79
cf.addict
 
James79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belfast
Age: 33
Services: VIP50 (V+ & VHD Box); 1 Additional VHD Box
Posts: 387
James79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to James79
Re: Is this a phishing scam?

Nope - "ezsite" something or other - fake email then!?
James79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2012, 13:24   #4
Kymmy
Cable Forum Team
 
Kymmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Age: 43
Posts: 16,278
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Is this a phishing scam?

Yep, email addresses can be spoofed extremely easily so the most simplest way of telling is the link..
Kymmy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2012, 13:35   #5
James79
cf.addict
 
James79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belfast
Age: 33
Services: VIP50 (V+ & VHD Box); 1 Additional VHD Box
Posts: 387
James79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of lightJames79 is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to James79
Re: Is this a phishing scam?

Thanks Kymmy - good trick to know!!
James79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2012, 13:38   #6
Kymmy
Cable Forum Team
 
Kymmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Age: 43
Posts: 16,278
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Is this a phishing scam?

Just watch out though as sometimes they can be tricky like M1CROSOFT.COM or 1ive.com instead of MICROSOFT.COM or live.com
Kymmy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Google Search




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2003 - 2012, Cable Forum.
(server1.cableforum.co.uk)

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2