Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Possible virus


You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media News Discussion

Possible virus
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-03-2004, 17:40   #1
cf.member
 
Grampy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Wales
Posts: 33
Grampy is an unknown quantity at this point
Possible virus

I have received two e-mails in the last two days one from "noreply@ntlworld.com" saying:-

Dear user of Ntlworld.com gateway e-mail server,

Our antivirus software has detected a large ammount of viruses outgoing
from your email account, you may use our free anti-virus tool to clean up
your computer software.

Advanced details can be found in attached file.

For security reasons attached file is password protected. The password is "18447".

Best wishes,
The Ntlworld.com team


and one from "management@ntlworld.com" saying:-

Dear user of Ntlworld.com gateway e-mail server,

Some of our clients complained about the spam (negative e-mail content)
outgoing from your e-mail account. Probably, you have been infected by
a proxy-relay trojan server. In order to keep your computer safe,
follow the instructions.

For further details see the attach.

Best wishes,
The Ntlworld.com team

Both have attachments. I have used mailwasher to preview the main e-mail.

Are they virus attachments or real?
Grampy is offline  
Old 17-03-2004, 17:41   #2
Permanently Banned
 
paulyoung666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: norton , teesside
Age: 40
Posts: 10,571
paulyoung666 has a nice shiny star
paulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny star
Re: Possible virus

hi and to the site , yes it is , i will dig out the thread already about it on this site in a minute
paulyoung666 is offline  
Old 17-03-2004, 17:41   #3
stuartbe
Guest
 
Location: Luton
Services: NTL Nafband
Posts: n/a
Re: Possible virus

Hi Grampy and to the site

This is allready being discussed here - http://forum.nthellworld.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8779
 
Old 17-03-2004, 17:43   #4
Permanently Banned
 
paulyoung666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: norton , teesside
Age: 40
Posts: 10,571
paulyoung666 has a nice shiny star
paulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny starpaulyoung666 has a nice shiny star
Re: Possible virus

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartbe
Hi Grampy and to the site

This is allready being discussed here - http://forum.nthellworld.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8779



dammit that stu bloke beat me to the link , mind you i beat him to the welcome , that makes it 1-1 i reckon
paulyoung666 is offline  
Old 17-03-2004, 17:43   #5
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,239
Neil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze array
Neil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze arrayNeil has a bronze array
Re: Possible virus

Thread closed due to duplication.

Link to original provided.
Neil is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:32.


Links
Google
 
Web www.cableforum.co.uk


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2003 - 2008, Cable Forum.
(s204569790.onlinehome.info)